man sitting at a table looking down, upset

What You Should Know About Michigan’s Sex Offender Registry

There is no ‘OWI Offenders Registry’ or ‘Drug Crimes Registry.’ Sex crimes are unique in that when individuals are convicted, they must register as sex offenders in addition to other criminal penalties. Let’s discuss what types of offenses require registration, requirements of registered sex offenders, and if there is any way to remove yourself from the list post-conviction.

Sex Offender Registry Offenses

In Michigan, sex offenses on the registry are classified using a tier system. There are three tiers, tier 1 being the least severe.

Tier one includes:

  • Indecent exposure in the presence of a child
  • Possession of child pornography
  • Inappropriate touching of a victim under 18
  • 4th-degree criminal sexual conduct
  • Sexual misconduct by a sexually deviant person
  • Any conspiracy to commit, or attempt to commit, an above offense

Individuals convicted of a tier-one offense must remain on the registry for 15 years following their conviction.

Tier two crimes are more serious:

  • Solicitation of a minor for sex (online or in-person)
  • Sodomy if the victim is between 13 and 18 years old
  • Pandering
  • 2nd-degree criminal sexual conduct
  • Distributing child pornography
  • Gross indecency against a minor

If convicted of a tier two offense, the individual is required to remain on the registry for 25 years.

The most serious tier-three offenses include:

  • 1st-degree criminal sexual conduct (rape)
  • 3rd-degree criminal sexual conduct (statutory rape)
  • Assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct
  • Most offenses involving minors under 13 years of age

Because this tier is reserved for the most severe sex offenses, convicted individuals must remain on the sex offender registry for life.

Requirements for Michigan Sex Offenders

Once your name appears on the sex offender registry, so does a lot of other personal information. This includes your photograph, birthdate, physical description, information about the criminal offense, your residential address, and more. Registered sex offenders are also required to re-register every year.

Sex offenders are also required to:

  • Updated the local courts of a residential change within 3 days of the move
  • Report any changes of employment status or location
  • Report any name changes
  • Not work, reside, or be present in a student safety zone (schools, daycares, parks, etc.)

Early Removal From the Registry

As explained above, sex offenders either remain on the registry for 15 years, 25 years, or life. Even the shortest duration of 15 years is a lengthy amount of time to have your name on such a stigmatized list. You may be wondering, is there a way to be removed early?

Some qualifying individuals may be able to receive sex offender registry relief. This is determined by the circumstances of the incident leading to conviction, as well as the date of the conviction. For a detailed guide regarding eligibility, click here.

Once you’ve determined your eligibility, you can file a petition with the court to discontinue your registration.

Getting your name off the sex offender registry as soon as possible is in your best interest. This helps you truly start a new chapter in your life after the events that led to your conviction. Removal of your name will make it easier for you to find employment, housing, and overall free you from the requirements of being on the registry.

Kalamazoo Michigan Sex Crimes Defense

If you have been accused of a tier one, two, or three sexual offense, contact our defense attorneys at Levine & Levine Attorneys at Law. We have helped numerous clients facing sex crimes charges receive not guilty verdicts or have their cases dismissed.